Collard Greens in San Antonio, Texas

So these are the collard greens that I made while here at the Oblate Renewal Center. Here, I met the chef and I asked her if I could cook. ‘Cause you know, how much I absolutely love to cook and be around people who cook. So she said yes!!

It was an awesome experience.  I cannot even write about how the cook looked at me and said, c’mon in here. I helped another one of the chefs to cook, and she and I made collard greens, sweet potatoes, and pinto beans. I made those items vegan, and she made, fried tilapia, collard greens with pork, sweet potatoes with butter, salad, and mac and cheese. It was awesome!

Not only did the experience start there, but she then invited me to her Holiness church. I went, and then we had another soul food dinner after church. This experience has been incredible and so full of wonderful surprises. I am very grateful to have this time with all the people I get to spend it with. Thank you God!

 

Leave a comment